2007 NR 2 seasons


2007 NR 2 seasons
  • Overview
  • Seasons
  • Details
This animated series centers on a "catbearrabbit" named Chowder, a chef-in-training who can't resist gobbling up everything he sees. Of course, Chowder's big appetite is an issue for his mentor, who takes his job very seriously.
Nicky Jones, Dwight Schultz, John DiMaggio, Tara Strong, Dana Snyder, C.H. Greenblatt, Liliana Mumy, Mindy Sterling, Will Shadley, Elan Garfias
  • SEASON  1
  • SEASON  2

Summary of Season 1 (2007) - 1 disc

Set in bustling Marzipan City, this Cartoon Network series revolves around the misadventures of Chowder, a young chef's apprentice who aspires to one day be the best chef in the entire world … if he can just refrain from eating everything he sees. Episodes include "The Thrice Cream Man," "The Flibber-Flabber Diet," "The Wrong Address," "Mahjongg Night," "The Puckerberry Overlords," "Stinky Love" and "A Taste of Marzipan."
Full Screen 1.33:1
English SDH
English: Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
NR - Not rated. This movie has not been rated by the MPAA.
age 7+
Common Sense rating OK for kids 7+
age 7+

Common Sense Note

Parents need to know that although there's nothing that iffy about this somewhat bizarre cartoon, there's not much overtly positive content, either. The three flawed main characters are a flighty cooking apprentice who never suffers repercussions from his constant kitchen mishaps (which result from his own rash actions), a supportive but unrealistically patient mentor, and an under-appreciated employee whose reliability is often taken for granted. A one-sided love interest depicts a young girl as pleading and desperate for attention from her crush, goofy cartoon violence doesn't result in lasting injury, and potty humor includes references to body odors and scenes of vomiting.

Sexual Content

Chowder is hounded by a young girl who claims to be his girlfriend and tries to hold his hand and, occasionally, kiss him.


Lots of goofy cartoon violence with no resulting injury: Chowder whacks Schnitzel on the head with a club, an anemone-like creature tries to suffocate a character, etc.


Not applicable

Social Behavior

The show isn't really out to convey any concrete lessons/messages. Potty humor is common and includes allusions to body odor and gas (in at least one scene, Chowder vomits up an entire grocery order still intact -- fruits, veggies, and blocks of cheese). Rather than using names, Mung Daal calls all female characters "woman," as in "Woman, I can't see through walls!"


Not applicable

Drugs / Tobacco / Alcohol

Not applicable

  • Age appropriate
  • Not an issue
  • Depends on your child and your family
  • Parents strongly cautioned
  • Not appropriate for kids of the age

This information for parents is provided by Common Sense Media, a non-profit organization dedicated to improving kids' media lives.

How it works

  • 1

    Create your list

    Browse from thousands of movies and shows.

  • 2

    Free delivery

    We send out your disc the next business day.

  • 3

    Watch and repeat

    Free returns, plus no due dates or late fees.

Unlimited movies sent to your door, starting at $9.99 a month.