Courage the Cowardly Dog

1999 NR 1 season

Courage the Cowardly Dog

1999 NR 1 season
  • Overview
  • Seasons
  • Details
Adopted by sweet-natured Muriel, Courage the Cowardly Dog lives on a farm near a town called Nowhere, where he protects Muriel and her grumpy husband, Eustace, from monsters and other creepy creatures.
Thea White, Marty Grabstein, Simon Prebble, Lionel G. Wilson, Billie Lou Watt, Arthur Anderson, Paul Schoeffler
  • SEASON  1

Summary of Season 1 (1999) - 2 discs

Perpetually frightened dog Courage struggles to survive his regular run-ins with terrifying creatures and demons like Bigfoot and the ghost of King Ramses. In Season 1, he faces a crazed cat, develops amnesia and becomes possessed.
Full Screen 1.33:1
English: Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
NR - Not rated. This movie has not been rated by the MPAA.
age 10+
Common Sense rating OK for kids 10+
age 10+

Common Sense Note

Parents need to know that this show isn't appropriate for any child young enough to believe in the reality of a cartoon character on any level. Every episode begins with Courage's owner's husband behaving in a nasty, abusive way to his wife and dog, and overall the show is about as violent and gross as it's possible for animation to be (and not in the Bugs Bunny way that many parents feel is funny even to young kids). That said, it's all so extreme -- characters grow extra arms, turn inside out, etc. -- that it's next to impossible to take it seriously, even though it's also hard not to wince if you've got a young kid in front of the television when it comes on.

Sexual Content

Very occasional references, such as "this is one of those naughty men's clubs, isn't it?" when a character is tied up.


All of the characters are subjected to extremely gross, graphic animated violence, including exploding organs, weapons of all sorts, growing extra limbs, turning inside out -- you name it. It's intended to be so over the top that it's funny, but it's still very strong for a cartoon.


Not applicable

Social Behavior

"Courage" apparently has very little, although he always fights his cowardice and comes through for his owner. Another main character regularly tries to harm Courage, and all characters except two are prone to cruel remarks and behavior toward one another (to say the least).


Not applicable

Drugs / Tobacco / Alcohol

Not applicable

  • Age appropriate
  • Not an issue
  • Depends on your child and your family
  • Parents strongly cautioned
  • Not appropriate for kids of the age

This information for parents is provided by Common Sense Media, a non-profit organization dedicated to improving kids' media lives.

How it works

  • 1

    Create your list

    Browse from thousands of movies and shows.

  • 2

    Free delivery

    We send out your disc the next business day.

  • 3

    Watch and repeat

    Free returns, plus no due dates or late fees.

Unlimited movies sent to your door, starting at $9.99 a month.