Rent Science Is Fiction on DVD

Science Is Fiction: 23 Films by Jean Painlevé

1929 Rated NR 8hr 35m

This collection features 23 short films by visionary French filmmaker Jean Painlevé, who pioneered innovative underwater-camera technology to reveal the mystery and fluid majesty of octopi, sea horses and other aquatic life. "The Sounds of Science," an original composition by American indie rockers Yo La Tengo, accompanies eight of the films. The anthology also includes extensive interview footage with Painlevé.

Rent DVDs for only $4.99 a month.

Cast: Yo La Tengo

More like Science Is Fiction: 23 Films by Jean Painlevé

Man with the Movie Camera Avant-Garde: Experimental Cinema: Vol. 2 Black Moon Holy Motors Tales of the Night Avant-Garde: Experimental Cinema: Vol. 1 Avant-Garde: Experimental Cinema: Vol. 3 Nosferatu The Passion of Joan of Arc The Complete Jean Vigo: À Propos de...

Movie Details

Jean Painlevé
This movie is
Cerebral, Understated
Not rated. This movie has not been rated by the MPAA.
Screen formats

Full Screen 1.33:1



Closed captioned


Language and sound

English: Dolby Digital Mono, French: Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo

Other features

Filmed in B&W and color; interactive menus; scene access; cast and crew interviews.