Photo of Jean Painlevé Jean Painlevé

Jean Painlevé in Science Is Fiction

Science Is Fiction: 23 Films by Jean Painlevé

1929 NR

This collection features 23 short films by visionary French filmmaker Jean Painlevé, who pioneered innovative underwater-camera technology to reveal the mystery and fluid majesty of octopi, sea horses and other aquatic life. "The Sounds of Science," an original composition by American indie rockers Yo La Tengo, accompanies eight of the films. The anthology also includes extensive interview footage with Painlevé.